January Reads

I love to read but I don’t always make time for it. I’ve been putting more effort into getting everything done early so I have at least 20 minutes to read each night before bed. It doesn’t always work but I’ve read more books in 2017 than I have in a long time and I’m hoping for even more this year. Here is what I finished in January…

The Aviators Wife by Melanie Benjamin

The book follows the life of Anne Morrow Lindbergh as she meets, travels with, begins a family with, and eventually lays to rest her husband, Charles Lindbergh. It was an interesting story. It provided a lot of insight into the life of someone I knew very little about and the trials and tribulations of their marriage, other than the kidnapping and death of their first born. It was fascinating and heartbreaking. Benjamin is a good author. Unfortunately, I didn’t really care for Anne or Charles as people. It took quite a while to really get into the story but I’m glad I stuck it out and finished the book. I learned a lot. I give the book a 3.5/5. Worth the read if you’re interested in the Lindbergh’s or WWII historical fiction.

Someday, Someday Maybe by Lauren Graham

I read this book because of my love of Gilmore Girls. It wasn’t my favorite but not terrible either. 3/5 stars. It follows a woman who is trying to make as an actress in New York. She works as a waitress, lives with a friend and acquaintance, and takes frequent acting classes. The story was kind of predictable but it was easy and quick.

And Every Morning the Way Home Gets Longer by Fredrik Backman

I loved this book. It’s a novella about a man who is aging and his family connections. Some parts were a little confusing but you can really see the pain of being on both sides of a family member aging. 5/5

What are you reading? Have any good suggestions?

-KB

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment